VCS Movie Screenings Fall 2013 Poster

My latest design assignment for the Visual & Critical Studies Department was a poster for the movie screenings that the department will be presenting for the Fall 2013 semester. At first, I was going to do a really straightforward type-heavy design with just the information for each screening in all caps. However, I decided to go with a more film-festival-type look, with film stills from each of the 8 films that will be screened through the course of the semester. To create a more contemporary, dynamic look, I took the incline of the italic font I had chosen as the basis for a grid. Even though this isn’t a major department event, I spent 4 hours on this poster because I felt that graphic design high and I just had to perfect it! (It helped that I had no restrictions or expectations or even a lofty concept for this – I just had to work with geometry and information.)

Image

Leave a Reply

