The Infographic about the Infographic

While I was experimenting with drawing diagrams in order to depict my internal dialogue, I hit a lot of roadblocks – how should I depict the two halves of myself? How should I depict the interaction between the two halves? Is it really two halves? How can I make definitive decisions that illustrate my personal interpretation and yet still create a visual language that aims to have a universal appeal? How do I solve my problems visually rather than resorting to huge blocks of text?

Retrospectively, a lot of these problems have to do with the permanence of visual representations. After all, they are frozen in time; they are not fluid, especially when you’re trying to ‘design’ them and present them as a finished product. I was struggling because I couldn’t commit to just one version of a diagram when I had that nagging feeling that there was a better representation out there. That’s why there was so much comfort in words – because I could cancel them out, modify them, add to them, and manipulate them in order to approximate what I wanted to convey.

At some point I moved from smaller sheets of paper to larger ones. My professor advised that this might aid the process of expanding my drawings. I tried to work on the illustration of the dialogue, but I got distracted…

DSC_2804 small

DSC_2804crop

This doodle had nothing whatsoever to do with the dialogue explorations, but it was the most interesting thing I had come up with so far, and I just felt like pursuing it.

This ‘distraction’ is an illustration of this trap that I just could not escape, which involved me trying to go deeper and deeper into the so-called problem at hand, jumping in and out of the different levels of thought and sometimes to a place outside of the problem but yet was still connected to it. I refined it into the following infographic:

Infographic about the Infographic small

I made it slightly more elaborate while I was sketching it out:

diagramsketch8small

A group of friends and I had started an Embroidery Club (which didn’t last past a couple of weeks), but during that time I decided to experiment with this medium. I liked the feel of it, but I still don’t know if it says what I want my work to say. It was just aesthetically interesting, and maybe it won’t ever move beyond that.

Embroiderysmall

Finally, I tried elaborating on this diagram. But of course the more I studied it, the more I found issues that I needed to resolve and that I couldn’t resolve. I moved into other diagrams after this, but this was the end point of this particular infographic.

DSC_2801 crop

Leave a Reply

