Exploring Diagrams as Depictions of the Self

After working on the dialogue as detailed in the last post, I had written an artist statement for another class, and also drew up a preliminary diagram that illustrated certain interests/leanings that I have. In the spring semester, I began exploring the potential for diagrams to represent the emotional and psychological aspects of the self. At the time, I believed this might be a good approach to merge my obsession with systems and systematic thought processes and my deep investment in my own emotional landscape.

I also began reading the fantastic and absorbing book Godel, Escher, Bach: An Eternal Golden Braid by Douglas Hofstadter, a study of the systems of human consciousness through a mixture of prose, illustrations, math, and dialogues between a host of characters as a means of exploring the future of artificial intelligence. One of the major takeaways from the book was the idea of “going meta” (etymology: Greek for ‘after’ or ‘above’), a tendency I have and which I wanted to reflect in my diagrams.

Throughout the semester, I moved from diagrams as illustrations of emotional and mental inclinations, to an experiment with the use of geometric forms as an illustration of the dialogue that I had been writing, and back again. Below are a selection of sketches that I did.

Leave a Reply

