My Drawings in Andy Gerndt’s Anatomy Show

Each year, my drawing instructor Andy Gerndt chooses the best works from the students in his three anatomy drawing classes for an exhibition in the lobby of the School of Visual Arts’ 133 West 21st Street building. Out of the six drawings that I had completed for his class, all six were in the show (which featured upwards of 90 works in total). Out of those six, five were up on the front wall. I’m so proud of all that I’ve achieved in his class, and even if I don’t go on to do very much “realistic” drawing in future, or perhaps because I suspect I won’t, I value all of the time that I’ve spent on these works proving to myself that I could really do it.

Apologies for the strange and inconsistent colour balance; the lighting was not the best!

Installation shot of the front wall

Installation shot of the front wall

My just-completed male triptych

My just-completed male triptych, which looks like three different people drew them – Andy described them as Degas/Lichtenstein/Duhrer

Male Nude

Male Nude

Male Muscles

Male Muscles

Male Skeleton

Male Skeleton

My arm/leg piece in the centre of the lower row, and my two skulls piece to the right in the upper row

My arm/leg piece in the centre of the lower row, and my two skulls piece to the right in the upper row

DSC_2359

Awkward shot of my arm/leg piece

Really awkward shot of my two skulls piece

Really awkward shot of my two skulls piece

Installation shot of the side walls

Installation shot of the side walls

My torso/pelvis piece

My torso/pelvis piece

Leave a Reply

