Istanbul Infographic VI: Sketches

This is the final infographic that I completed the night before the critique session. We were supposed to finish 10 pieces, but I could only manage 6 (for some reason I just didn’t manage my time well for this project), and when I have the time and energy I do have the data sets for another two infographics.

I wanted to use my sketches in some way, but obviously the sketches themselves don’t quite have the same aesthetic as my visualisations, so I decided to treat the sketches as a data set. I guess I felt like looking back on the drawings (and a few paintings) that I did, I could sense that I was favouring a certain pen, or that I really enjoyed drawing architectural structures, so it became somewhat of an analysis of my drawing habits.

I have to say that this piece was the least straightforward, in the sense that I was actually trying to posit some kind of relationship between the subject matter and the medium that I chose, and also in that I was trying to represent certain nuances in the data set (such as that I drew so many figure drawings because I did them really fast). Therefore, it became the most problematic piece. I went through a lot of different representational systems before I settled on this one, and even this is far from perfect. Some comments I had were: the arrangement of the squares suggest unintentionally suggest a sequence of events i.e. the order of the sketches; the actual surface area of the squares doesn’t correspond clearly to the representation of a certain relationship between the two variables, etc. Although it looks decent, the system itself is not yet developed enough to be an unassailable representation of the information/relationships, and I could still push it further and find some way of including the order in which I sketched, and which sketchbook I used for each sketch.

The inertia of going back into something and editing it, especially after I’ve experienced the feeling of finality, is extremely great. The idea of redoing this piece, or even going back and executing the last two planned infographics, seems almost redundant now. I don’t feel compelled to do it, I only feel obligated to do it. For some reason I’m so process-oriented that once I feel that feeling of “done”, it’s just difficult to redo, rehaul, revisit. That lack of commitment scares me. I don’t know if I should leave this behind or finish it. It’s like when I write: I achieve some kind of catharsis and I don’t need to return to that topic. Even though I should.

*This is the sixth and final in a series of posts on infographics that I created after completing a summer program in Istanbul. Check out the first post for a bit more information about the project.

Leave a Reply

