Istanbul Sketchbook I: Ayasofya and the Blue Mosque

The first sketchbook that I wanted to start off with is the book we were given on the day we visited the Ayasofya (or Hagia Sophia) and the Blue Mosque. We were told to fill the entire book with observational drawings. However, I was mostly taking photographs (I didn’t know when I would be able to go back again), and didn’t have the luxury of time to do really good studies. I ended up having to fill it with drawings based on the photographs I shot.

Click through the gallery to see the four pages that I picked, and some comments about them.

*This is the first in a series of posts about the drawings and sketches that I did during a three-week summer programme in Istanbul. Check out my first post on my Istanbul infographic project for more information.

Leave a Reply

