Skull Studies

I’m taking an anatomy drawing class with the amazing Andy Gerndt this semester (and the next). When I first visited SVA in November 2007, one of his exhibitions from that class was up and I was totally blown away by the accuracy and detail of all the student work. So this is really exciting for me to come full circle, so to speak, and to be able to take a studio class that’s just pure discipline and technique (not a very regular occurrence at SVA). Our first exercise is to draw two views of a skull, and today I finally started on my final piece after working on my studies and planning the composition for the past lessons. Here’s a slideshow of some bad iPhone photos of my work:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

