Brain Cuts

The next ukiyo-e project involves making a kaleidoscope effect using just one image repeated four times. It’ll be easier to explain once I’ve printed it and have pictures. But anyway, I decided to base my design on an 19th century anatomical drawing of a brain. Here are some prep photos:

Trying to figure out how best to draw my design

I photocopied the completed design and transfered it onto the wood using my handy dandy toxic Chartpak blender marker.

This is pretty much as far as I got carving my design.

2 comments

  1. Sinta Jimenez

    Always interested to see things in process, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

