After the Great Wave

I’m taking a class in Japanese woodblock printing (also known as ukiyo-e) this semester, and for our first trial print we were told to do something simple to get used to the tools and the complex printing process. I decided to base my print on the famous Great Wave image by ukiyo-e master Hokusai. Of course I couldn’t achieve anything close to this:

The Great Wave off Kanagawa, a Japanese woodblock print or ukiyo-e by Hokusai

But I decided instead to do an abstract minimalist version of the print, which turned out like this:

My instructor was pretty pleased with this considering it was my first try. Here’s a version of my print compared to the woodblock (i forgot about having to reverse the image, and it took me several tries to get a smooth print):

2 comments

  1. Sinta Jimenez

    That is a great job for a first try. I love Hokusai!!

Leave a Reply

