Childhood Fantasies

When I was around 7 or 8, I remember writing about a world that was completely flooded and everyone had to get around by boats and would only be able to live from the 3rd floor up. So when we were told to do a super huge drawing of the world 20 years from now, I decided to resurrect this childhood fantasy with a more satirical/adult twist. At the bottom in white is the submerged world where you can see abandoned cars and boarded up buildings with graffiti by people who were freaking out about the world flooding. And above that people have just continued to live their capitalist lives with fast food chains and penthouse suites and even a high-rise zoo. Also, as I did when I was a kid, I drew an underwater scene with any underwater creature I could think of, including a giant squid, the Loch Ness monster and mermaids.

Not the best drawing I’ve ever done, but as a classmate said I put myself out of my comfort zone and did something more child-like and funny for once.

Leave a Reply

