My hand is going to fall off.

I’m killing myself doing this self-portrait made out of billions of tiny dots. I wanted to finish it by Monday so that it could be put in the end-of-year Visual and Critical Studies showcase but it’s already 8 pm on Saturday and I haven’t even got round to the hair which is the worst and most time consuming part.

I’m really bummed that I won’t be able to show it because it looks so good and I think I’ve spent – well, definitely upwards of 30 hours on it so far and my hand currently feels like it’s going to fall off. And I’ve also promised my drawing professor that I would finish it and now I won’t be able to unless I forego sleep for the next two days, and then forego sleep again the next day so I can rush my papers due next week. And I have work next week and people are in New York and I might kill myself if the stippling doesn’t kill me first.

Just so you can get an idea how small the dots really are.

11 comments

  1. Oh my goodness, this is amazing! Love your work.

  2. tengyenlin

    oh dear… it looks good though. use both hands??!

  3. I stumbled in via links of links but I just wanted to say that this is amazing. πŸ˜€ I can’t wait to see more of your work!

  4. yingzi

    i’m not sure if it’s too late to say this. but i think it looks cool unfinished…because of the contrast of the white space on top, and you can easily read what was the working process. you can even make it seem more “intentional” by filling in a few random squares rather than in sequence, so it looks like the image is dissolving into little sections and then nothingness as it goes up

    • Berny

      i wish i could leave it unfinished – there would be less work for me to do too. but i think i would be sacrificing something amazing – my first decent attempt at photorealism – by copping out. and this is for a class assignment so finishing it is still the ultimate goal.

      coincidentally, for another drawing assignment (with more freedom), i’m copying an art work but intentionally leaving the grids and some spaces behind…

      • yingzi

        oh dear. now i feel so ashamed for advising you to cop out hahaha. something i picked up in archi when the deadlines are just…impossible. that’s right, impossible. sigh. but anyway! that’s very admirable. keep pushing it! it’s incredible; i think you’ve jumped a lot of levels ever since art in jc (:

      • Berny

        lol don’t feel ashamed!!! i totally understand why that would be cool but yeah i think i really need to try to finish it. it might be impossible for me though i have so many drawings due on the same day :/

        thanks for the compliments πŸ™‚

  5. Amazing. I can’t even imagine how much time this took.

Leave a Reply

