The Giant Pencil

The boss wanted me to make a giant pencil from scratch as a trophy for a drawing competition we were intending to hold on May 28. Luckily, with some help from the mother in terms of finding (or rather inheriting) materials, and the long-buried-but-still-close-to-my-heart knowledge of Neil Buchanan using “PVA glue and water and loo roll” to create “rock hard” craft projects on Art Attack!, I have finally succeeded. I am proud of it. And then my boss decides that he’s shifting the event to end-June, even though just yesterday he wanted me to rush the pencil out. I am trying very hard to look on the bright side, but that’s just not in my nature.

I still like the pencil though, and here are some lousy pictures taken with my phone camera and jiggled about with iPhoto.

Papier mache stage

It's taller than me. Almost 2 metres.

DRAWING KING

 

6 comments

  1. sam

    looool neil buchanan!!!

  2. zixin

    siao one this one

  3. ge

    don’t tell ben but it beats his hands down

    yes, “loo roll”. gotta love buchanan

Leave a Reply

