I don’t know how to say goodbye

I don’t know how to say goodbye.
Just a simple one, not a never-see-you-again one
[Although you never know for sure].

An unplanned waving of hand,
Maybe a soft “See you” or two:
That’s all I can really manage for you.

You do them well, you rush through them;
If I do that too, will it make you miss me
As much as I miss you?

Each unsteady, unready turn of head,
Just so I can avoid staring into your eyes
For one moment too long, too longingly.

You leaving me leaves me with regrets.
It’s rough: I’m not enough for you,
You’re not enough to stop me missing you.

I don’t know how to say goodbye.
Even the simple ones feel like never-see-you-again ones —
And I never want to say goodbye.

4 comments

  1. mildred

    >< this made me cry. and no not being drama. it did really make me cry.

    • Berny

      seriously?! i don’t think it’s that good. it’s not as deliberate as my other poems. but i needed to get it out of my system.

  2. mildred

    maybe its because this one really hits home. ok mann we need our be sad session ><

Leave a Reply

